Hunters Hill High School

Opera Ad Maiora – By Hard Work to Greater Things

Telephone02 9817 4565

Technological and applied studies

Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students use a range of tools, materials and techniques in the design process and technological experiences through theory and practical lessons. As well as the mandatory study of technology, students can select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to design and produce solutions for authentic needs and opportunities
  • an option for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Available courses include:

  • Agricultural Technology 7-10
  • Design and Technology 7-10
  • Food Technology 7-10
  • Graphics Technology 7-10
  • Industrial Technology 7-10
  • Information and Software Technology 7-10
  • Textiles Technology 7-10
  • Agriculture Stage 6
  • Design and Technology Stage 6
  • Engineering Studies Stage 6
  • Food Technology Stage 6
  • Industrial Technology Stage 6
  • Information Processes and Technology Stage 6
  • Software Design and Development Stage 6
  • Textiles and Design Stage 6.

OnGuard safety tests

All students are required to complete compulsory machine testing before entering a workshop environment. Students need to go to this login page to complete all safety tests in relation to their year, class number and teacher name.

Year 7 

Download the mandatory technology course outline (PDF 252KB) for more information.

Information technology

Hunters Hill High School has 4 computer rooms with 20-30 desktop computers in each. Teachers take classes to these rooms to access the Internet and the software programs they need to deliver their lessons. This includes the library where the computers are also available for students to use at recess and at lunch time and where a senior study area provides Year 12 students with additional access.

Information technology outcomes are integrated into the syllabuses for Years 7 to 12. In Years 7 and 8 there are 2 modules in the technics mandatory syllabus which concentrate on developing basic information technology skills. In Years 9 and 10 information technology can be taken as an elective subject concentrating on advanced skill development. In Years 11 and 12, students can chose a number of information technology courses which emphasise the workplace perspective.